Virginia Onley Values Civility, Honesty, and Respect

Virginia-Onley-2015
Virginia Onley

The King Farm Candidate Forum last Tuesday was the last public opportunity that candidates for Rockville Mayor and Council could share their vision for Rockville and why they deserve your vote on Tuesday, November 3.  We’ll be sharing our closing statements as a series, now with Virginia Onley:

I have been called the “swing vote” on our Council. I will continue to be your independent “swing vote” on the Council, listening to your concerns regardless what the issue may be.

On a personal note: I am a single, African American, fixed-income woman living at the Americana Centre in the center of Rockville. I am a 22-year resident of this city. My father was a welder by profession, who worked for Bethlehem Steel Corporation and my son Ted, the father of my grandchildren, is a police officer and one of the County’s hostage negotiators.

With this background, I hold certain values dear:

  • I value a Rockville that is attractive and safe for our families.
  • I value carefully managed growth that maintains our hometown feel and that does not outpace our resources and infrastructure. At the same time, I do understand that some growth is necessary so that our taxes and expenses do not price people like me out of our community, and so that police officers like my son will be able to find housing in Rockville that they can afford.
  • I value straight talk.
  • I value civility, honesty, and respect.

My work is not done. I need your vote on November 3 to reelect me to the Rockville City Council

To learn more about me, please visit my website at www.votevirginiaonley.org or send me an email at Virginiacares@votevirginiaonley.org

I wanted answers from Rich Gottfried this evening. Since I did not get those answers, “it’s official”, Rich is the “Donald Trump” of Rockville.

Thank you for listening!

