Mark Pierzchala Looks to the Future Through Our Children’s Eyes

mark3_2x2.5_enh
Mark Pierzchala

The King Farm Candidate Forum last Tuesday was the last public opportunity that candidates for Rockville Mayor and Council could share their vision for Rockville and why they deserve your vote on Tuesday, November 3.  We’ll be sharing our closing statements as a series, now with Mark Pierzchala:

When I served as councilmember from 2009 to 2013, I learned that I could lead from a council seat. I voted to bring Choice Hotels to our Town Center for a very modest incentive. This led to 400 high quality jobs in the heart of the City, made possible the Cambria Suites Hotel in our Town Center, and increased our property tax revenue. This passed on a 3-0-2 vote.

I voted to fund the Police Station, the Senior Center Extension, and the Gude Drive Maintenance facility that keeps our snow plows on the roads; these passed on a 3-2 vote. These were badly needed investments for Rockville.

So you can see that with 5 elected representatives on the Mayor and Council that every vote is valuable, and I’m the candidate here who made the right decisions.

I also wrote the resolution that put the Red Gate golf course under private management. I had to spend my first 2 years in office fighting off an effort to bring RedGate into the General Fund. Such a move would have perpetuated a $630,000 per year taxpayer subsidy to golf. Now that subsidy is gone and RedGate is doing well.

I was effective on budget matters during the Great Recession. I was the liaison to Rockville Economic Development, Inc. (REDI) and supported the Maryland Woman’s Business Center when it first started under REDI. I am a business owner with an office in Rockville Town Center, and I am a member of the Chamber of Commerce.

After my four years in office, I want to be remembered as the one who brought together residents, businesses, non-profits, education, and government to fashion a new master plan that works for everyone.

I stand ready to work with the King Farm Community, and every other Rockville community, to solve their pressing issues. But, I always look to the future through the prospects of our children. In 5, 10, and 20 years from now, where will they be able to live, where will they work, what kinds of jobs will they have, and how will they get around.

You can visit my website at VotePierzchala.org. I ask that you return me to office so that I can serve you again.

